The Back Room

With respect to Socrates, my unexamined life is not worth living. The front room is the face we show everyone but we hide our true self in the back room.

Part II

More thoughts stemming from Pessoa’s book.  And I would rather share them in the same day I have them because what exists today may not exist tomorrow.

I do like the idea of writing on the day I have the thought because it is the thought, the raw, time unfiltered thought I am after… the journey rather than the destination, if you will.

Pessoa wrote about the existence of God and the existence of pain, how one begets the other.  To believe in pain is to believe in evil, therefore, believing in God as the creator of evil.

But that is the easy conclusion.

The reason for evil?  That requires deeper thought.  And Pessoa believed our not knowing the reason was the beginning of unknowing.

Unknowing.  What a concept!  In school, I learned about the importance of knowing thyself, to fully appreciate my metaphysical self.  My empathic side opened up thus allowing me to become a better social worker, a better therapist, a better person.  But Pessoa appreciates what is beyond knowing thyself. 

How about, we can never know ourselves, and the letting go, in favor of accepting that we know nothing, to paraphrase Socrates, is a more enlightening notion?

It allows us the freedom to explore the blank canvas of our soul without an agenda.

True freedom.

And before I shuffle off for the evening, I want to share Pessoa’s thought on love.  Love, as he sees it, or as sees it through the thoughts of his heteronym Bernardo Soares, is not the sharing of two like-minded souls.  To him, it is merely our soul gazing in the mirror, seeing what it wants to see in the reflection.  The image in the reflection was created by our soul, so we simply love ourselves.

I like the freedom of playing with such concepts without having to pick sides.

The immediacy of my words stimulates me.  I hope I do not re-read what I wrote too often.  After all, it can be viewed as counterfeit.  The person who wrote what I am writing now will not be the same person tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
August 2014
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

What I am currently reading…..

Follow The Back Room on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

