The Back Room

With respect to Socrates, my unexamined life is not worth living. The front room is the face we show everyone but we hide our true self in the back room.

Snapshot of an SNF (skilled nursing facility)

“I was going to sit with my sister and eat my lunch but I can’t.  Because of the smell.”

The administrator attempted to reassure her that the mess was being taken care of, at least to get some Lysol to spray in the room.

“But why wasn’t this done before?  I’ve been here for thirty minutes already, waiting for someone to come down and clean up her roommate’s shit.  And no one’s come to do anything about this.  Now, I happen to be here, but my sister has to live with this, every day.  And that’s just unsanitary.  It’s inhumane.”

The administrator hits upon the idea to close the door to the room and the conversation becomes muffled.

Ten minutes later, the sister bursts from the room, heading back to her sister’s hospital room.

“So, what’s goin’ on, Mary?  Am I getting’ outta here or what?”

“Well, they have to put it to the doctor.  And if he agrees, you’re going home and if he doesn’t, then you’re going home AMA.”

“What’s that mean?”

“It means I’ll kidnap you so you don’t have to spend another day in this fuckin’ place.  C’mon, let’s get you packed.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2014 by in Random, Social Work and tagged , , , .
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

What I am currently reading…..

Follow The Back Room on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

