The Back Room

With respect to Socrates, my unexamined life is not worth living. The front room is the face we show everyone but we hide our true self in the back room.

I have little to add to the accompanying musical clip on Valerie June

I have little to add to the accompanying musical clip on Valerie June.  Me and my bride were fortunate enough to see her live.  What her wonderful studio recording does not capture is the living breathing soul casting its spell on an audience.  Her studio recording gives you the muddy Southern bluegrass reminiscent of current bands Alabama Shakes, My Morning Jacket, Ray LaMontagne, and The Black Keys but her stage presence shows a more mercurial, and assured compositional arrangement.  From carefully separated drums and horn, her voice and own instrumental prowess notwithstanding, each song becomes an experience.

10 comments on “I have little to add to the accompanying musical clip on Valerie June

  1. ♡Venus♀Lotus
    March 18, 2015

    I’ve only recently discovered Alabama Shakes after seeing their epic performance on SNL. It was unbelievable. Did you happen to catch that?

    Like

    • Andrew Davis
      March 19, 2015

      I didn’t see it. But I can imagine, like Valerie June, to hear Alabama Shakes on a CD and seeing them live are like comparing apples and chainsaws. I’ll have to check YouTube for it. Thanks!

      Like

      • ♡Venus♀Lotus
        March 19, 2015

        It was sooo good I want to watch it again. I hope you find it, Dakota Johnson was hosting if that helps.

        Like

      • Andrew Davis
        March 21, 2015

        got it! and even better than I thought! I wish them success but I secretly want them to remain hungry. now I need to see them live! thank you for this!

        Liked by 1 person

      • ♡Venus♀Lotus
        March 21, 2015

        I hear you about losing that hunger. So glad you found it! I watched it again..both songs.

        Like

      • Andrew Davis
        March 21, 2015

        and I just missed them when they came to NYC. Shucks.

        Like

      • ♡Venus♀Lotus
        March 21, 2015

        They won’t be coming to my neck of the woods..Toronto, not Montreal. Oh well..

        Like

      • Andrew Davis
        March 22, 2015

        Oh, but you do have the mighty Raptors!

        Like

      • ♡Venus♀Lotus
        March 23, 2015

        Lol! ummm no thanks. We do have Arcade Fire though, who I’ll definitely claim! 🙂

        Like

      • Andrew Davis
        March 23, 2015

        There you go!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in Music, New York City and tagged , , , .
March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

What I am currently reading…..

Follow The Back Room on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

