The Back Room

With respect to Socrates, my unexamined life is not worth living. The front room is the face we show everyone but we hide our true self in the back room.

Idioms for People Who Wish To Feel Ridiculed

face-off-clipart-modified-confused-smiley

As I have said in previous postings, my bride is not indigenous to the United States of America.  I often say certain phrases without thinking, commonly known as idioms, only to turn back and see the confused look on her face.

She makes me realize how much of my speech is mired in idiomatic expressions  i.e. “cooking with gas” “a bat and ball to play with” “thrown a curveball” “you’re aces in my book” “Johnny-on-the-spot” “on the nose” “get the juices flowing” etc.    Often, when she asks where these phrase came from, I have no earthly idea.

She patiently accepts my American expressions and even creates her own idioms out of my mine, to better suit her comprehension and at times, enhance our secret communications.  However, my inherently American upbringing delivers new expressions every week.  After gauging her curiosity, I decide to buy her a book of common American idioms so she will not feel so excluded by my flippant verbal shorthand.

I purchase Barron’s A Dictionary of American Idioms edited by Adam Makkai, Ph.D.  At first she skims through the book looking for my idioms only to close the book dejected.  Then we begin to notice certain strange patterns in the book.

The book, as clarified in the introduction, is not interested in an idiom’s origin, but rather to be used as a tool for recent immigrants and linguists alike.  It is arranged alphabetically; with the idiom first, followed by its usage in a sentence.

While this is the fifth edition, the book was initially published in 1975.  This information is important as it informs the sentences used.  Needless to say, my bride and I have had countless hours of enjoyment with this book, possibly for unintentional reasons.

Through the month of July, the month of American independence, I will share example of idioms and the sample sentences from the book.

Kicking it off, we have a modern reference.

 Stop one’s clock

President Obama sent drones to stop the clocks of the Taliban fighters.

 

This idiom is interesting to me because I was unaware of its fatalistic semantics.  In fact, I first heard this idiom in the film Harvey with James Stewart (the one with the imaginary rabbit).  In the film, Stewart’s character, Elwood P. Dowd (what a name!) tells medical professionals that Harvey, his furry friend, has the ability to “stop your clock”.  He says, “You know the expression he has a face that could stop a clock?  Well, Harvey has the ability to stop anyone’s clock.  And they can go wherever they like for as long as they like.”  A face that could stop a clock meant a face that made you freeze.  You were mesmerized or transfixed by overwhelming beauty, perhaps.  Now it apparently means to kill someone.

How times have changed.

elwood2

Elwood P. Dowd in “Harvey” Source: http://www.fallingdownthepub.co.uk/

6 comments on “Idioms for People Who Wish To Feel Ridiculed

  1. Venus❥Lotus
    July 2, 2015

    I feel the same with French sayings..they lose me with that shit..I usually laugh awkwardly and pretend I know what they’re talking about. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucy
    July 3, 2015

    I love the ones that are easy to mistake for being literal. When someone says something like ‘coals to Newcastle’ foreign people will generally know it’s an idiom and ask what it means, but I once said I had itchy feet to someone and they actually thought I had itchy feet, and not an urge to travel. Ditto ‘flogging a dead horse’. :O

    Like

    • Andrew Davis
      July 3, 2015

      Welcome to the idiomatic club! Oh, pardon me, not you. My horse died of natural causes. Don’t look at me like that. Now, if you’ll excuse me I have to soak my feet!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah
    July 10, 2015

    I love hearing idioms from other countries/languages. Like many first language English speakers, I’m immune to most English idioms as I’m so used to hearing them. I’ve been learning Welsh on and off, and there are some great Welsh idioms – especially weather related ones, which comes as no surprise considering that raining is what Wales does best. Where you might find the precipitation of cats and dogs in England, in Wales, we have old women and sticks.

    Like

    • Andrew Davis
      July 11, 2015

      Old Women and sticks. Nice. When I lived in London I remember being fascinated by so many different words. It was my first experience being immersed in a language of unfamiliarity, something I may not have experienced until later in life.
      And to be fair, Welsh rarebit is what they do best! (grin)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2015 by in Language and tagged , , , , .
July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

What I am currently reading…..

Follow The Back Room on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

